Spent the day on the computer and at the computer store – well, at least it was the Apple Store

First thing, after getting kids to camp and dog and self walked, was to cool off with a giant iced tea (it was really hot today and note to self – a bit speedy now – should have skipped that Starbuck’s green tea at 3 pm –  make a pot of decaf iced for tomorrow) and plunked myself down in front of the computer. I worked on two Facebook business pages, a Twitter account and set up some links. Sounds easy and parts of it are but it is time-consuming.  Luckily I can Google questions when I get stuck which was only twice today.   Also cleaned up some left-over LinkedIn messiness (Note to all:  if you hit invite all of your contacts and import your contact list it is not enough to delete the contact list, somehow there is a cycling effect and unless you go to your Inbox and Sent Invitations and manually delete them, people will continue to be harassed invited by you in perpetuity. Unless you have a thick skin and never get tired of emails asking why you invited your Aunt Flora to join LinkedIn, do this). You are welcome.

So, some social media and then I used a great resource Freecycle…and you will not believe what I got. First, read about Freecycle:

Welcome! The Freecycle Network™ is made up of 4,810 groups with 7,245,000 members across the globe. It’s a grassroots and entirely nonprofit movement of people who are giving (& getting) stuff for free in their own towns. It’s all about reuse and keeping good stuff out of landfills. Each local group is moderated by a local volunteer (them’s good people). Membership is free. To sign up, find your community by entering it into the search box above or by clicking on “Browse Groups” above the search box. Have fun!

I have located a jog stroller for a friend and cross-country skis for me.  When you have something to give away, you write “Offer” in the subject line and if you are looking for something “Wanted”. It is best to balance the two and now I am certainly on the ‘need to offer’ side as I asked (hope springs eternal) for an older Mac laptop. I did not get a laptop, I got a desktop model – maybe 5 years old seemingly in good condition. I drove it directly to the Apple Store where I was relieved of my very heavy desktop by a staff member and helped by a wonderful customer service person. Really knowledgeable and kind and patient with this Mac novice. I was embarrassed to admit I got the computer from Freecycle so I said it was from a friend – which it was, well, sort of. It feels very friendly to go to someone’s house and pick up something.  Nice community building.

So,  I am at the Apple Store and everything was going well until we tried to connect to the internet and when it didn’t work wirelessly – we tried the ethernet connection and that was a problem because the back of the unit had been removed by a previous tech-y owner. I left the newbie (to me) with the lovely Apple people and am waiting for the results of the diagnostic. How great is that? All I need is a mouse and a keyboard (hopefully) and I am good to go.  What you don’t know is that I am using the family computer – which means I have to wrangle for time on it – to write this as my aging useless stupid Dell laptop shuts down periodically and then I freak out. ‘Cuz it sucks to be working on something and then to see it crash. I hate Dell. Sorry, Dell. You have not been kind to me. I have given you too many chances, Dell, I am afraid it is over.

2 Comments

Filed under Feed your head, soul, self, mom blogs, some social media

2 responses to “Spent the day on the computer and at the computer store – well, at least it was the Apple Store

  1. I also switched from Dell laptop to Mac about 6 months ago, and for similar reasons. Love it. Except Macs stupid iPhoto software, but thats another story. Good luck with yours and happy transitioning!

  2. Many thanks! It is still being evaluated…fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

