Recipes for my mother-in-law’s pressure cooker which is how I still think of it although I have owned it for almost 20 years.

My Mother-in-Law is a sweetheart and early in our marriage gave me a pressure cooker. She told me that I could make dinners in no time flat and it would be great. Well, I was a little nervous about the pressure cooker’s potential to explode so I tried only a few things – chicken soup was the best –  45 minutes and you have homemade chicken soup – overnight if you really want to skim the fat – but still. (Basically one chicken cut up or pieces you like best – thighs make it richer, veggies of choice – carrots, celery and parsnips, garlic and onion if you like – don’t salt it until it is done cooking). So for years that is all I used it for and I still don’t have a decent pressure cooker cookbook but last week I thought…”Hmmm, I don’t really want to cook…it is hot and I am tired…What can I make with minimal effort that my whole family will eat?” of course the answer – boringly – was chicken. What to do? I bought breasts and thighs and some Theo’s Steakhouse Marinade at Whole Foods and I dumped it all into the mighty pressure cooker. Okay, I filled the empty marinade bottle halfway with water to get the rest out and to cover the chicken with liquid. I secured the cover and turned the heat up. I guessed it would be done in about 25-30 minutes and it was just as I wanted it – like pulled chicken from a Barbeque place. I served it on potato rolls (also Whole Foods) and some salad and brown rice and corn on the cob.

Done.

I am baking today which means I can’t write about it now or I will mess it up – chocolate cinnamon cookies and a strawberry pie (we went to a strawberry festival yesterday at Verrill Farm in Concord) and I am also making a salad for a friend with our farm share bounty – red and green lettuce, arugula, radishes, spinach and scallions.

2 Comments

Filed under Feed your head, soul, self, Food, healthy

2 responses to “Recipes for my mother-in-law’s pressure cooker which is how I still think of it although I have owned it for almost 20 years.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Recipes for my mother-in-law’s pressure cooker which is how I still think of it although I have owned it for almost 20 years. « Capability : Mom -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Tuscan Pork Ribs Pressure Cooker Recipe

Leave a Reply

