Rainbow cakes are everywhere

You know I made the rainbow cake

rainbow cake capability mom

Capability Mom's Rainbow Cake from The Whisk Kid's recipe

from The Whisk Kid (and she was on Martha) but now I find rainbow cakes everywhere. Here are some of my favorites:

rainbow cake with fruit from huckleberry stew Huckleberry Stew This rainbow cake is not only topped with fruit but the coloring of the cake is fruit based – in case you are wary of using food coloring.

huckleberry stew rainbow cake capability mom

The recipe comes  from I am baker blog – gorgeous, creative and fun.

rainbow cake sweetnicks

Here on Sweetnicks, a mom makes her rainbow cake from a box mix and it is beautiful. Hey, small kids, no time to bake, purdy peas rainbow cake capability momMartha wouldn’t cut those corners but I would. Above, from Purdy Peas is another beautiful cake – check out that icing. All good and fun cakes – perfect for upcoming graduation parties.

Of course, this gorgeous outrageous layer cake from Kevin Sharkey on MarthaStewart.com

kevin sharkey's rainbow cake on martha stewart

6 Comments

Filed under Food, rainbow cakes, recipes - tried and true

6 responses to “Rainbow cakes are everywhere

  1. I love those rainbow cakes. I have never seen them before. Thanks so much. I tagged it for my cooking folder.

    I’m a chocoholic so my repertoire is black, brown, brown black, dark brown, etc..

    I normally don’t like anything else but those look fun and gorgeous.

  2. I am also waaaay into chocolate but was powerless to resist this cake.

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog and for the link on yours. I can’t believe that last cake you list, that is something else!

  4. Isn’t it wild? Really fun. I think I would make it square shaped if I were making it that big.

  5. Pingback: Chocolate refrigerator cakes, best chocolate chip cookies, googly bands and fun « Capability : Mom

  6. Pingback: Cakes: rainbow, chocolate and other « Capability : Mom

Leave a Reply

