Mother’s Day is almost upon us…personally I just want a nice homemade card, some hand-picked flowers and some Mommy Prayers.

But if your family needs to do more, here are some ideas…BTW, Mother’s Day is not until Sunday, May 9, 2010.

capability mom loves upstairs at the squareMother’s Day Brunch at UpStairs at the Square – great food in a jewel box of a space.  This menu looks amazing.

I like to have breakfast at home – especially if someone wants to drive to Sofra. I hear the Turkish Breakfast is great but the chocolate orange croissant sounds pretty good, too.

For older children who love to make their own cards – a great resource is Paper Source PaperSource's I love my mom stamp – they have great card and craft ideas and gift ideas that are sweet but not spendy…just right.

You can never go wrong with chocolate…really, you can’t.  Here is a great site – delicious chocolate, adorable and made by a really sweet person, too.

Fancy Nancy’s Candy

fancy nancy candy from capability momThe fact that these made it through the “photo shoot” was a testimony to their adorableness not my willpower.

 

 

Ideas that cost pennies or nothing at all:

  • Take a hike…or a bike ride together as a family. Take the dog, too. 
  • Let Mom read the Sunday paper.
  • Send her out with a friend for a manicure and pedicure (commonly called mani-pedi in Mom Slang).
  • Another sweet idea is to put seeds in the card (inexpensive but lovely) and the children can plant them with Mom on Mother’s Day. Good activity and as complicated or easy as you want to make it.

Paper flower garden:

Construction paper, popsicle sticks, playdoh and a cup or small pot.

Cut out flowers of construction paper, tape or glue to popsicle sticks. Put playdoh in cup or pot and you have made a really cute flower for Mom.  We have done this and added photos of the children’s faces (and the family pet?) on the paper flower. Very cute.

  • You could always for the traditional route and bring Mom breakfast in bed. Everyone can help. It can be as basic as a cup of juice and a card to a full out gourmet experience. (For very little ones who want to help, Mom loves juice in a covered sippy cup, really, considering all of the possiblities of a toddler and a glass of juice, she really, really does).

Buy her a book. This book.  It is a really funny and sweet book called Mommy Prayers by Tracy Mayor (she is an editor at Brain Child : The Magazine for Thinking Mothers which I have read and loved forever – well, okay, the past ten years – maybe it just feels like forever).  This book is a series of classic Mom moments in prayer form.  I am not sure if my favorite is Prayer for My Five Minute Nap (Owl Babies…I read that constantly!) or Prayer for the Sunday Paper, Unread.  This book is lovely, funny, witty and on the mark – it will make Mom smile and even laugh out loud.  Okay, Prayer for the Clueless Mom at the Playground is my favorite.  The author, Tracy Mayor, will be at the Peabody (MA) Barnes and Noble on Saturday, May 1 at 2 pm. She will be signing books and there will be gifts! Gifts! If only I didn’t have a volunteer opportunity and two soccer games that day! You go for me – have fun, get gifts and buy books. She has a great blog, too. Mommy Prayers blog

mommy prayersWhatever you decide to do – Mom will appreciate it…that’s why she’s Mom.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Mother’s Day is almost upon us…personally I just want a nice homemade card, some hand-picked flowers and some Mommy Prayers.

  1. Pingback: Mother’s Day is Almost Upon UsPersonally I Just Want a Nice … at astronomersdoitinclusters

  2. Superb, thanks for posting!

  3. Aw, thanks for that great review!

    And what a thrill to be mentioned in the same entry with UpStairs on the Square. Luvvvvv that restaurant. Now, I just need an excuse to go…

    • I love this book! I am giving it to each of my sisters, my mom and my sister-in-law for Mother’s Day. Really funny, smart and sweet and I think I get extra credit with something with the word prayers in it. :-)

  4. Your blog is first-class I will have to read it all, thank you for the diversion from my professors!

  5. good information. Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

