A friend, a find and flowers

 Today started a little shaky. Cleaning up dog puke does tend to set the tone.  I did get in a nice walk but then I drove all the way to the store to get dog food…without my wallet.  Okay.  Breathe.  Back home, a quick shower, back to the store for two hundred pounds of dog food (okay, I do exaggerate) and on to the Coffee Shop Bloggers at L’Aroma.  I love my time here and I missed last week but I had to rush off, the library event is only two days away and I left too little time for that lovely part of my week.  Luckily, and as usual, I was kept on track and got help for some technical issues, wonderful advice, inspiration and a few goals for the up-coming week.  Hopefully, I was also helpful.

On to lunch at Sofra which I cannot believe I only found out about today.  Oh, those missed opportunities to pick up Earthquake cookies!  They are only the lightest cloud of chocolate cookie (covered with powdered sugar) on the planet.  Happily, Sofra happens to be very near to my doctor’s office.  Handy.  I almost feel a sinus infection coming on…grin.  There are copper tables dotting the cozy, warm space and  floor to ceiling windows flooding it with daylight.  We sat on a sweet porch outside soaking up the sun on this rare New England spring day.  A dear friend treated me to a deliciously perfect lunch (yummy stuffed flatbread and chicken shawarma, a persian doughnut – more light amazing pastry and an earthquake cookie).  We split everything – oh, and we had a great almond/red pepper dip that I almost forgot about – it disappeared that quickly.  After we had talked ourselves out (barely), I stocked up on the most wonderful food.  Farm fresh eggs, buttered  hummus and whipped feta made it home – the cookies did not fare so well.  Sofra has amazing looking prepared dinners and beautifully packaged spices and teas.  I do travel for food but in this case I don’t have to travel that far.  The owners of Sofra also own Oleana in Cambridge which I have not yet been to but now will absolutely visit and soon.  There is also their farm, Siena Farms that has a CSA (community supported agriculture) shares that you can join.

Back to library, errands, school pick-up and a lovely gift from another dear friend – a blush pink hydrangea plant. The day had decidedly taken a turn for the better. Dinner was going to be fish but I think it will be eggs and hummus and feta. I have some great greens and a crusty bread.

Sofra – eggs and hummus and whipped feta

Here is an interview with Ana Sortun (Head chef and owner of Sofra and Oleana) in Foodie Mommy blog, her husband Chris Kurth is owner and farmer of Siena Farms.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “A friend, a find and flowers

  1. How I love Sofra. Love the Turkish breakfast…did you try that? Love the spices. A great place to buy Aleppo pepper! Lucky you! Two coffee shops in one day!

  2. Pingback: Where I am a cheap date or Sofra fits the bill for a Tuesday dinner (and breakfast the next day) « Capability : Mom

Leave a Reply

