Yet another easy dinner from Real Simple

Okay, the first Real Simple recipe was okay but this one was wonderful.  Turkey cutlets and green bean salad.  I adjusted the salad to exclude some non-favorite items such as tomatoes and olives but I think it would be lovely with – I used orange bell pepper and it was nice.

I’ve made chicken cutlets this way but the turkey was a nice change. Verdict: All in favor and want the leftovers with what is now known as simple tomato sauce (from www.smittenkitchen.com)

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 lb green beans, trimmed and washed
  • 1 lb grape tomatoes, halved (I used orange bell pepper)
  • 1/2 pitted kalamata olives, quartered (you could also use hearts of palm here)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice and lemon wedges for serving (it was lemony enough without extra)
  • 4 tablespoons of olive oil (I  used more as needed)
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • 4 thin turkey cutlets – about 1 lb. (I used 2 lbs – and had leftovers – glad I did)
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour (1/2 cup)
  • 2 large eggs – beaten (add 2 more eggs)
  • 2/3 cup bread crumbs (I did not measure – just used all I had on hand – probably 1 cup plus a bit)

Directions:

In a large saucepan with a steamer basket, bring 1 inch of water to a boil. Place beans in basket, cover and steam until tender – about 4 to 5 minutes. Rinse beans under cold water to cool.

Toss the beans with veggies of choice, lemon juice, 1 tablespoon of olive oil. 1/4 teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper in a large bowl.

Season the turkey with salt and pepper (calls for 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper – I used less). Dredge cutlets in flour and then dip into egg, let the excess drip off.  Coat with breadcrumbs.  Heat 3 tablespoons of olive oil over medium high heat (if making more, add the additional oil later) and place cutlets in pan. Cook until golden and cooked through (2-3 minutes per side). I put everything in a 350 degree oven because I wanted to hold them a bit and I am always concerned about undercooked poultry.

Serve with green bean salad and side green salad. A crusty bread if you are adding carbs or some cous cous or quinoa (good protein)would add nicely to the dinner.

 Thank you folks at www.realsimple.com All in all a fast (under 30 minutes) and lovely meal.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

