A healthy and inexpensive lunch

capability mom

delicious, easy lunch

 

This is a great lunch staple in our house and I recently started making it instead of buying it.  While there a good store brands (Sabra, Good Neighbor, Cedars and even Trader Joe’s house brand),  homemade always wins.  I started with Barefoot Contessa’s hummus but my family’s collective particular palate almost always requires changes. 

Two cans of chickpeas, drained – reserve the liquid (original recipe called for two cups)

1 1/2 teaspoons of kosher salt 

4 minced cloves of garlic (I have  used minced garlic – gasp, from a jar – and it is fine) 

1/2 cup tahini (sesame paste) 

3 tablespoons of lemon juice ( one lemon – The original recipe uses two lemons and it is glorious, light and bright but my family said “Too lemony” so I adjusted this). 

6 tablespoons of water or liquid from chickpeas (I use the chickpea liquid and if you like it more lemony – reduce this to two tablespoons and up the lemon) 

Place all in a blender or food processor and purée.  After you have put this in a bowl, you can add Tabasco (8 dashes – guess if I do this) and drizzle with olive oil and toasted pine nuts (yes, this is so pretty). Sprinkle with paprika if desired.  We like it in lunches in a wrap with lettuce or as a dip with almost any bread or cracker on hand.  Nice to send with carrot sticks in a lunch. I have served this along side a roasted eggplant spread and sliced chicken with a great green salad for a lunch. 

  

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “A healthy and inexpensive lunch

  1. It is amazing how much better home made hummus tastes compared to store bought! I enjoyed other’s homemade hummus but, with your recipe, I can make my own. My Armenian friend said the secret to good hummus is lots and lots of lemon juice!

Leave a Reply

