Stop me before I volunteer again!

I really look like this.

It is true.  I have a problem saying no and it seems pretty pervasive among my friends.  This results in over-booking (you know, sure I have to get the kids to school by 8 but I can still get that batch of cookies I promised for the teacher lunch in).  When the idea or project is worthwhile, which they all are, it is really hard to say no. 

 I remember saying yes to my first committee before I even  knew what a committee was.  My children were very young at the time and I was thrilled (!) to be asked to contribute.  It was a great experience and I met some amazing women. All of the other things I have worked on since have been wonderful experiences, too.  It isn’t about not wanting to help. It is about making it work for you and your family.  Here is my new intent – I will say “I would really like to but am working on quite a bit now, can I think about it and get back to you?”   It isn’t a no, it is a delay until you can truly assess what the time committment entails (If I say this to you, you saw it here first).  I am working on the balance that I need to make good on all of my intentions and not over-book (a family tradition).

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Stop me before I volunteer again!

  1. 5kidswdisabilities

    Good take on the topic of saying “no”. I still haven’t learned it, but people have learned to stop asking me because, in the end, I wasn’t able to follow through on what I agreed to do. It only takes so many “I didn’t have time to do it,” before people got the idea that I didn’t have time to do it and I was too “nice” to say no in the first place!!!!
    Your strategy is much better!!!!
    Lindsey Petersen
    http://5kidswdisabilities.wordpress.com

  2. I need to memorize that line! Sometimes I say no to volunteering but then I get all caught up in the excitement later on and accept the volunteer thing I earlier rejected. Maybe you should see tatoos of your line for our hands or foreheads!

    Pragmatic Mom

Leave a Reply

